The Journey

Thursday I register for classes for my last semester of college. I say this with a lot of pride, not only because I live in a dorm with all sophmores (who are on average 45 credits to my junior) but because college graduation is a unique milestone for everyone who is financially fortunate enough to be able to slug it out for four years.

Everyone’s story is different. Me, I try not to start with “I”. Too many people love talking about themselves. I do too- I’ll admit it, but college is a good jumping off point to try to broaden the topic toward you: the reader.

I guess the topic of the journey stemmed from a conversation I had with my friend this weekend on the Mass Pike westbound. We were driving back to UMass from a Wolfmother concert at the House of Blues in Boston and after trying and failing at conquering the colonial city with our small change and ripped jeans, I got pretty introspective and started talking to my friend about the journey.

Walking the streets of Boston, we were looking for some cheap bars and good conversation. We failed at that in our observation that Boston is posh and we don’t belong. Girls leaving the Prudential building on a Saturday night with shopping bags in hand led us to believe that this city was not for us on that night. Maybe ever.

Money and time. Time is money. “Time is money.” That reverberated throughout my head on the drive. I had to get back so I could be well rested to study and do homework on Sunday. I would rather have stayed the night in the city and perused Cambridge for some live music. It’s a shame that we can not follow our inner most desires sometimes. I desire a lot of time. I want time to roam new places and search for new people, romances, spots of grass. To let life find me, we need to let it come in. I used to read a lot of Jack Kerouac.

Four years of college has felt like a preliminary step to the next and unknown phase of life. The next phase is always unknown by nature. Only, I already feel like I know where I’m going. It may sound strange that I resent having plans post-college. I’m interning for one of my favorite band’s management. It’s a dream come true and the office is right in my backyard. There is a good chance they may hire me full-time after I graduate. Anyone in the right mind would be siked. I’m on the fence.

Could such a great opportunity really hit me right out of school? Is this it? Am I tied down now? If I am offered a job and take it, will I be there for years? I have never comitted to a part time job for longer than one year. Scary shit for sure.

If life could go on hold the moment I take off my tassle-turned cap and gown, I would not regret it for a second. At camp fires and parties in high school, I always told people how I wanted to visit every state in America. I was never as interested in seeing other countries my friends had been. I figured, why run so far when you haven’t even explored your entire backyard? There is something in my heart I need to chase. If you don’t feel the same way, I pray that you have already conquered your chase by your own means.

Don’t give up because of time. Don’t give up because of money. Human kindness will take you where need to go as long as you contribute to it too, whenever you can. Lobby for better health care and supporters will follow. Share songs with other musicians- listen, don’t just play, and you will get that gig. Believe in human kindness and believe in your journey.

660 words

– Lee C. Taylor

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Journey

  1. amara4prez

    This was sweet and relatable. I from Cambridge so I loved the reference*

  2. Janice Churchill

    Lee, I love how to mention right off the bat that college is a great time to stop starting off with “I” and broaden your horizons as a writer. I came very close to starting off this comment with “I”… phew. It certainly is something we all feel comfortable writing about and stepping out of that comfort zone is probably the best way we can all challenge ourselves. Nice piece. Good luck and congrats on senior year!

  3. braddurkin

    epic… I like it a lot. Really sums up how you need to work with and for people to get places… People are scared leaving college of what is to come, but we shouldnt rush into the next chapter.

  4. “It’s a shame that we can not follow our inner most desires sometimes. I desire a lot of time. I want time to roam new places and search for new people, romances, spots of grass. To let life find me, we need to let it come in. I used to read a lot of Jack Kerouac.”

    This really touched me. I struggle with this every single day, and it weighs in the back of my mind like a stone. Every week I talk with one of my good friends about how we wished we did more, how there is so much to do here, how it’s so frustrating that we can’t just get out there, say fuck it and experience what we desire.

    I’m terrified of life after school. Mostly, because I don’t want to do what you might be doing: getting stuck, tied down, whatever. I’m going to be a very young 21 when I graduate…I can’t imagine launching into a career right away. I often think about how I would be living my life if I had eternity. A waste of the time I do have, I know, but it’s a relaxing daydream.

    Anyway, sorry to ramble. I liked your post.

  5. hgalvsmetamedia

    haha:

    “Walking the streets of Boston, we were looking for some cheap bars and good conversation. We failed at that in our observation that Boston is posh and we don’t belong. Girls leaving the Prudential building on a Saturday night with shopping bags in hand led us to believe that this city was not for us on that night. Maybe ever.”

    …the entry i just wrote, also about spending last weekend in boston, is eerily similar to what i think you’re trying to get at here in the above quote.

    def liked your entry Lee!

  6. ScottB

    A first-person piece about being reluctant to use the I-word in stories. Novel approach to a first-person piece, Lee.

    Traveling after graduation sounds pretty idyllic. I hope you’re able to do it.

Leave a Reply

